Posted by: usset001 | September 15, 2008

One year of “Grain Marketing is Simple”

My first book, “Grain Marketing is Simple (it’s just not easy),” was released one year ago. The experience of writing and distributing a book is a big challenge but I am very pleased with the results. After a modest amnount of debate, my colleagues and I at the Center for Farm Financial Management decided NOT to distribute the book through “normal” channels like Amazon and Barnes & Noble. We felt that CFFM had a good handle on the grain producing audience we were trying to reach. Why not try to reach them directly?

You might think that after a market like the last 12 months ($20 wheat, $7 corn and $15 soybeans), there are many parts of the book I would change. But my approach to grain marketing – before and after harvest – is not one that changes a lot with prices and volatility. Higher prices has made a few of my examples look dated, but the approach does not change. One thing I would change is my definition of “large” and “small” carrying charges. I had to choose between a more accurate but complicated definition, or a simple but limited definition. I chose simple, but high grain prices demand the more complicated definition. I’ll share more on this topic in later postings.

One point of pride: after distirbuting several thousand copies of the book and getting very positive feedback from all corners of the country, nobody has pointed out a grammatical error in the text. Give it time, give it time…


Leave a Reply

Categories

