Posted by: usset001 | August 26, 2011

Corn: 2012 Pre-Harvest Marketing Plan

I’ve been lollygagging with my 2012 pre-harvest marketing plan for corn (find it here). First I was slow getting started. I began talking about the possibility of pricing 2012 crop in February, but I didn’t get around to activating the plan until early July. Second, I took my first actions in early July, but only now am I getting around to showing it off to the public.

What inspired me to take action in early July? I watched it long enough and the prospect of delivering cash corn close to $5.75/bushel in 2012 is a great place to start. I sold 6 contracts of Dec’12 corn futures at $6.14 per bushel.

If you haven’t done anything yet, that’s good for you. The Dec’12 corn I sold at $6.14 is now 40 cents higher.

Earlier this week I started pricing 2012 spring wheat. The only item left on my agenda is to start pricing 2012 soybeans. I’m still lollygagging. Stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

