Posted by: usset001 | December 22, 2011

Finished with pricing the 2011 HRS wheat crop

In late November I completed pricing the 2011 hard red spring wheat crop. You can find my post-harvest marketing plan and a recap of my activities here. My average price was not bad, considering that I had sales made as low as $6.60/bu. and as high as $9.55/bu.

The holidays are here and it’s time (if you haven’t already done so)  to turn our attention to 2012. My pre-harvest marketing plan for 2012 spring wheat is here. I first published it last August and the initial sales were made at very good levels. Which leaves me, of course, with that “I should’a sold more” feeling.

Grain prices are searching for direction. The bull market died during the collapse last September, but it doesn’t feel like a bear market today. We are searching for direction. I’d like to see a bull market resume but, until then, I want to be ready to sell rallies.


Leave a Reply

Categories

